carousel

Posted on May 2, 2009

0


once in a while, i’ll become more or less fixated on an image. when some particular imagery burrows itself into my mind, my thoughts become tethered to it. I try to find real-life, tangible replications of the image and, if I don’t see it, I find it in more abstract representations.

right now, the image occupying my brain is that of a carousel. I think I saw a picture of one in a magazine a few weeks ago, and I haven’t been able to shake it since. they’re as beautiful as they are haunting, and its unending rotations provide so much fodder for drawing parallels to young adulthood, aimlessness, and futility.

but that’s besides the point. I just wanted to provide some context to a post featuring five videos of songs titled “carousel” (or some derivation of it), each a song I appreciate in its own right.

Iron & Wine – Carousel

Paper Route – Carousel

Nicole Atkins – Carouselle

Beirut – Carousels

mewithoutYou – Carousels

Posted in: lists, music